Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Social Work Subject Research Guide: Online Reference Books

Key resources in Social Work

Searching for a Book?

Google Books

Google Book Search

Online Reference Books

The list below includes a sample of encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, etc. that are searchable and readable online. To access these resources: 

  • click on this link:  eBooks and eReference Resources
  • select the appropriate resource
  • log in with the user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email
  • search for a specific title or topic

ABC-Clio Greenwood Digital Collection & Education Library
Effective Interventions: Applying Learning Theory to School Social Work
Poverty and Government in America: A Historical Encyclopedia

Credo Reference
50 Key Concepts in Gender Studies
The A-Z of Social Research
Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing
Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships
Contemporary Youth Culture: An International Encyclopedia
Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment
Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity & Culture
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
Key Concepts in Critical Social Theory
The New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy
Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences
The Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies
The Social Science Jargon-Buster
U.S. Census 2000 State & County Statistical Quick Facts

ebrary/ProQuest Ebook Collection
Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression
Counseling Troubled Boys: A Guidebook for Professionals
Ethical Issues in Community-Based Research with Children and Youth
Family Relationships: An Evolutionary Perspective
Guide to Evidence-Based Group Work

Harmonizing Work, Family, and Personal Life: From Policy to Practice
Infidelity: A Practioner's Guide to Working with Couples in Crisis
Intergroup Attitudes and Relations in Childhood Through Adulthood
International Encyclopedia of Adolescence
Overcoming Problematic Alcohol and Drug Use: A Guide for Beginning the Change Process
Saving Children from a Life of Crime: Early Risk Factors and Effective Interventions
Social Work: Voices from the Inside
Towards Positive Systems of Child and Family Welfare: International Comparisons of Child Protection, Family Service, and Community Caring Systems
Youth Moves: Identities and Education in Global Perspective

EBSCO eBook Collection
Adoption: A Reference Handbook
American Homelessness: A Reference Handbook
The Blackwell Companion to Social Theory
The Blackwell Dictionary of Modern Social Thought
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Organizational Behavior
Childhood Sexual Abuse: A Reference Handbook
Encyclopedia of Adoption
Encyclopedia of American Prisons (Garland Reference Library of the Humanities)
Encyclopedia of Gangs
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Encyclopedia of Social History (Garland Reference Library of Social Science)
Handbook of the New Sexuality Studies
Historical and Multicultural Encyclopedia of Women's Reproductive Rights in the United States
International Handbook of Penology and Criminal Justice
The International Handbook of Suicide and Attempted Suicide
Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia
The Millennials: Americans Born 1977 to 1994
Older Americans: A Changing Market
Portrait of Health in the United States
Prisons in America: A Reference Handbook (Contemporary World Issues)
Social Change in America: The Historical Handbook, 2004
State Profiles: The Population and Economy of Each U.S. State (Bernan Press U.S. Databook Series)
Teen Violence: A Medical Dictionary, Bibliography, and Annotated Research Guide to Internet References
Vital Statistics of the Unites States: Birth, Life Expectancy, Deaths and Selected Health Data

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in World's Cultures
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2nd Ed. 

Library Contact Information

Reference Desk's picture
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476
Website