Anthropology: Library Books and Ebooks

Comprehensively assessing anthropology's engagement with climate change, this volume both maps out exciting trajectories for research and issues a call to action. Linking sophisticated knowledge to effective actions, 'Anthropology and Climate Change' is essential for students and scholars in anthropology and environmental studies.

This supplementary reader offers both historical and contemporary articles that demonstrate the nature of biological anthropology. With nearly one-third of the selections focusing on living populations, the 43 readings cover the entire range of bioanthropological studies: evolution, nonhuman primates, human paleontology, and modern human groups. Twelve of the 43 articles are new to this edition, including Kari Bruwelheide and Douglas Owsley's "Written in Bone: Reading the Remains of the 17th Century"; Carl Zimmer's "What is a Species?"; Daniel E. Lieberman's "Homing In On Early "Homo""; and Sally Lehrman's "Going Beyond X and Y."

Certain social scientists from Europe, the US, and Australia were invited to treat various aspects of the slippery concept of power as it pervades the social sciences, in order to provide exemplars by which other researchers could extrapolate to deal with power in particular contexts and manifestations. Within the overall themes of the theoretical framework, related analytical concepts, and substantive issues, they consider such topics as rational choice approaches, spatial shifts in the architecture of globalization, power and identity, power and legitimacy from Weber to contemporary theory, managing power in organizations, cultures of resistance in the workplace, and the state and power. Annotation ©2009 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Anthropologists in Arms traces the troubled history of social scientists' collaboration with national military, security, and intelligence organizations and analyzes the moral and ethical debates provoked by the rise of _military anthropology_--particularly the practice of embedding anthropologists with combat troops in Iraq and Afghanistan.

For more archaeology titles, select the Archaeology tab above.

2010 in ebook format!!

The Dictionary of Anthropology is designed to open this exciting discipline to a wide audience and serve as a standard reference guide to the field of social and cultural anthropology. The Dictionary's core consists of substantial analytical articles focusing on key anthropological concepts, theories, and methodologies. Drawing on contributions from some 125 distinguished anthropologists, it provides both state-of-the-art critiques of current issues in anthropology and key summary assessments of the discipline's most important historical contributions to general knowledge. Through its examination of the field's significant ethnographic and thematic research, the Dictionary also provides the reader with clear, concise statements of central issues without privileging any particular theoretical approach.

This is the only encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology to cover fully the many important areas of overlap between anthropology and related disciplines. This work also covers key terms, ideas and people, thus eliminating the need to refer to other books for specific definitions or biographies. Special features include: * over 230 substantial entries on every major idea, individual and sub-discipline of social and cultural anthropology * over 100 international contributors * a glossary of more than 600 key terms and ideas.

The Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology, now in its second edition, maintains a strong benchmark for understanding the scope of contemporary anthropological field methods. Avoiding divisive debates over science and humanism, the contributors draw upon both traditions to explore fieldwork in practice. The second edition also reflects major developments of the past decade, including: the rising prominence of mixed methods, the emergence of new technologies, and evolving views on ethnographic writing. Spanning the chain of research, from designing a project through methods of data collection and interpretive analysis, the Handbook features new chapters on ethnography of online communities, social survey research, and network and geospatial analysis. Considered discussion of ethics, epistemology, and the presentation of research results to diverse audiences round out the volume.

'The Oxford Companion to Archaeology' is an up-to-date reference work on virtually every aspect of this fascinating field. Entries range from the broad overviews, to treatments of particular themes, to discussions of peoples, and societies.

Just about everyone is familiar with folk and fairy tales. Children learn about them from parents, teachers, and other adults, while researchers study these tales at colleges and universities. At the same time, folk and fairy tales are inseparable from everyday life and popular culture. Movies, music, art, and literature offer imaginative retellings and interpretations of fairy and folk tales. But despite the pervasiveness of this folklore type, most people have only a vague understanding of these tales. This reference is a convenient introduction to folk and fairy tales for students and general readers. Written by a leading authority, this handbook offers a broad examination of folk and fairy tales as a folklore type. It looks at tales from around the world and from diverse cultures. The volume defines and classifies folk and fairy tales and analyzes a number of examples. It studies the varied manifestations of fairy and folk tales in literature and culture and reviews critical and scholarly approaches to this folklore genre. The volume also includes a glossary and extensive list of works for further reading.

During the past 30 years, the study of racial and ethnic minority issues in psychology has evolved to what can be considered a significant and rapidly growing subfield within American psychology. The field encompasses a wide range of subdisciplines within psychology and includes a multitude of populations both within and outside of the United States.   The Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology is the first authoritative guide to synthesize the dynamic field of multicultural psychology. This volume includes entries on a broad array of issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. The Encyclopedia addresses culture across a broad spectrum of psychological perspectives and includes topics that are relevant to social psychology, cognitive psychology, environmental psychology, cross-cultural psychology, and clinical psychology.   Key Features Supports the notion that culture, and not race, is the best way to understand differences among individuals;therefore this volume focuses on culture to provide an index to the terms, concepts, and issues in the mainstream for the field Presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues and covers all of the major ethnic groups and subgroups the United States Includes topics on sociological issues as well as conceptual issues relevant to the field of multicultural psychology Addresses topics as diverse as academic achievement, acculturation, affirmative action, community interventions, education, health, immigrants, prejudice, racial identity development, social ecology, stereotyping, teaching multiculturalism, tokenism, values, violence, worldviews, and more! Key Themes Conceptual Issues Cultural Concerns Ethnic Groups Indigenous Concerns Measurement Professional Organizations Psychopathology Sociological Issues Treatment   The Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology is an excellent resource for those interested in improving their awareness and comprehension of cultural practices prevalent among and between all people. It is a must-have reference for any academic library or psychology collection.    

Anthropologists in Arms looks at the moral and ethical debates surrounding the recent development of 'military anthropology'--particularly the practice of embedding anthropologists with combat troops in Iraq and Afghanistan. Lucas traces the troubled history of social scientists collaborating with national military, security, and intelligence organizations and shows how these complex and frequently misunderstood historical concerns contribute to the contemporary moral controversy. He gives special attention to the Human Terrain Systems project developed by the U.S. Army under the direction of General David Petraeus. Although this project has been criticized as unethical by academic anthropologists in the U.S. and the U.K., Lucas shows that the moral status of that program is much more ambiguous than these blanket criticisms would suggest. Anthropologists in Arms concludes with a call for a thorough review of HTS itself, and suggests alternative strategies for providing anthropological knowledge to military forces engaged in irregular warfare--knowledge that might, in turn, help military forces to ameliorate the suffering imposed on noncombatants, while respecting the privacy, security, and human rights of indigenous populations.

A fundamental work on the peopling of the Americas   This volume, originally published in 1922, constitutes the most complete summary of anthropological information on Florida up until that point. Not only does it consider all previous research on Florida archaeology, physical anthropology, and aboriginal history, it also contains Hrdlicka's analysis of every human bone from Florida that he could find in collections. He made remarkably accurate observations about the general physical types of prehistoric Florida Indians and how they compared to native peoples of surrounding regions.  

An international group of anthropologists take a fresh look at various neglected approaches to comparison and present new approaches that are relevant to the globalized world of the twenty first century.

Anthropology and Christian Theology have traditionally interpreted religion in quite different ways and have often been thought of as hostile to one another. In fact, a fundamental concern for human experience lies at the heart of both disciplines. This innovative book takes a new look at key anthropological and theological themes, and explores the intricacies of their interplay throughout history and in the present. Sacrifice, embodiment, ritual, incarnation, symbolism, gift and power are all related in ways that shed new light on religious behaviour and belief. Detailed analysis of fundamental Christian rites shows how they help generate emotional meaning and inspire philosophical ideas, and demonstrates how the body serves as a vehicle for religious beliefs. Through an examination of these issues and much more, Davies reveals how religious rituals help people to become secure in their sense of identity. This accessible foray into new territory is essential reading for anthropologists, theologians, or anyone interested in religion who is seeking new interpretations of familiar themes.

How do anthropologists work today and how will they work in future? While some anthropologists have recently called for a new "public" or "engaged" anthropology, profound changes have already occurred, leading to new kinds of work for a large number of anthropologists. The image of anthropologists "reaching out" from protected academic positions to a vaguely defined "public" is out of touch with the working conditions of these anthropologists, especially those junior and untenured. The papers in this volume show that anthropology is put to work in diverse ways today. They indicate that the new conditions of anthropological work require significant departures from canonical principles of cultural anthropology, such as replacing ethnographic rapport with multiple forms of collaboration. This volume's goal is to help graduate students and early-career scholars accept these changes without feeling something essential to anthropology has been lost. There really is no other choice for most young anthropologists.