History Subject Research Guide: Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

20^th Century Day by Day
REF D422 .C53 2000

Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience (5 vols.)
REF DT14 .A37435 2005

American Nation: Primary Sources
REF E173 .A747 2008

American National Biography (24 vols.)
REF CT213 .A68 1999

The Ancient Americans: A Reference Guide to the Art, Culture, and History of Pre-Columbian North and South America (2 vols.)
REF E59 .P42 S3613 2001

Ancient Greece and Rome (4 vols.) (also available as an e-book)
REF DE5 .A57 1998

Besieged: An Encyclopedia of Great Sieges from Ancient Times to the Present
REF D25.5 .D32 2001

Chronology of the American West
REF F591 .Z46 2002

The Cold War Encyclopedia
REF D840 .P28 1996

Civil Rights Chronicle: The African-American Struggle for Freedom
REF E185.61 .C5918 2003

Constitutions of the World
REF K3165 .M33 2008

Dictionary of American History (10 vols.)
REF E174 .D52 2003

Dictionary of Historic Documents
REF D9 .D525 2003

Dictionary of the Middle Ages
REF D114 D5 

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present (also available as an e-book)
REF E185 .E5453 2009

Encyclopedia of African American Society (2 vols.) (also available as an e-book)
REF E185 .E546 2005

Encyclopedia of American Historical Documents (3 vols.)
REF E173 .E54 2004

Encyclopedia of Conflicts since World War II
REF D843 .E46 2007

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
REF E169.12 .E49 2001

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (5 vols.) (also available as an e-book)
REF F1406 .E53 1996

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia (6 vols.)
REF DS4. E53 2002

Encyclopedia of Modern Middle East & North Africa (4 vols.)
REF D543 .E53 2004

The Encyclopedia of Nineteenth Century Land Warfare
REF D361 .F34 2001

Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era (4 vols.)
REF DA550 .E527 2004

Encyclopedia of War & American Society
REF E181 .E634 2006

Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics (also available as an e-book)
REF HQ1236.5.U6 E52 2008

Facts About China
REF DS706 .F25 2003

France: A Reference Guide from the Renaissance to the Present
REF DC35 .R64 2004

Great Military Leaders and their Campaigns
REF D25 .G74 2008

Historic Documents
REF E839.5 .H57 1972-2002 plus indexes

Historical Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections 1788-2004
REF G1201.F9 H5 2006

Historical Dictionary of the Crusades
REF D155 .S53 2003

Historical Dictionary of NATO and other International Security Organizations
REF UA646.3 .R485 2009

Historical Dictionary of Turkey
REF DR436 .H47 2009

The Holocaust Encyclopedia (also available as an e-book)
REF D804.25 .H66 2001

Immigration in U.S. History (also available as an e-book)
REF JV6450 .I565 2006

Lives & Legacies: An Encyclopedia of People Who Changed the World
REF D107 .G646 2001

The Longman Handbook of Early Modern Europe: 1453-1763
REF D209 .C66 2001

Magill’s Guide to Military History (5 vols.)
REF D25 .A2 M34 2001

Major Acts of Congress (3 vols.)
REF KF154 .M35 2004

The Middle Ages (4 vols.) (also available as an e-book)
REF D114 .M54 1996

The New Illustrated Encyclopedia of World History (2 vols.)
REF D21 .L276

The New York Times on the Presidency, 1853-2008
REF JK554 .B67 2009

The Oryz Holocaust Sourcebook
REF D804.3 .F47 2002

The Oxford Classical Dictionary (also available as an e-book)
REF DE5 .O9 2003

The Oxford Companion to United States History
REF E174 .O94 2001

The Oxford Companion to World War II
REF D740 .O94 1995

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (61 vols.)
REF DA28 .O95 2004

Palgrave Concise Historical Atlas of the First World War
REF G1037 P3 2005

Presidents: a Biographical Dictionary
REF E176.1 .H215 2001

The Presidents, First Ladies, and Vice Presidents: White House Biographies, 1789-2009
REF E176.1 .K28 2009

U.S. Leadership in Wartime: Clashes, Controversy, and Compromise
REF E181 .U825 2009

The World War I Databook
REF D523 .E44 2001

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to History may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

C     Auxillary Sciences of History

D     Word History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.

E     History of the Americas

F     History of the Americas

H     Social Sciences

J      Political Science

U     Military Science

V     Naval Science

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers