History Subject Research Guide: Online Reference Books

The list below includes a sample of encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, etc. that are searchable and readable online. To access these resources: 

• click on this link:  eBooks and eReference Resources
• select the appropriate resource (Credo Reference, Gale Virtual Reference, EBSCO eBook Collection, Oxford Digital Reference Collection)
• log in with the user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email
• search for a specific reference title (use quotation marks in ALL TITLES search box in Credo), or for a topic in the general search field. (You may also try searching for the reference title in the library catalog at http://slulibrary.saintleo.edu )

Credo Reference 
The 9/11 Encyclopedia
Andromeda Encyclopedic Dictionary of World History
Biographical Dictionary of Modern Egypt
Chambers of World History
Concise Atlas of World History, Andromeda
Conspiracy Theories in American History
Dictionary of British History
A Dictionary of Contemporary History - 1945 to the present
The Companion to British History, Routledge
The Encyclopaedia of the Renaissance
Encyclopedia of African History
Encyclopedia of Emanicipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture
Encyclopedia of North American Indians
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
The Encyclopedia of World History
Encyclopedia of World Trade From Ancient Times to the Present
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, social, and Military History
The Great American History Fact-Finder
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures
A Guide to the Ancient World, H.W. Wilson
The Hutchinson Chronology of World History
Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Post-classical World
The Reader's Companion to American History
The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History
The Reader's Companion to the American Presidency
Reader's Guide to British History
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of the Italian Renaissance
Who's Who in Ancient Egypt, Routledge
Who's Who in Gay and Lesbian History, Routledge
Who's Who in The Roman World, Routledge
Women in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia
World Politics Since 1945

CQ Press Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Political Science
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Africa and the Americas: Culture - Politics - and History
Ancient Europe, 8000 BC to 1000 AD: An Encyclopedia of the Barbarian world (2 vols.)
Ancient Greece and Rome (4 vols.)
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China
Cold War Reference Library
Colonial America Reference Library
Early Civilizations in the Americas Reference Library
Elizabethan World Reference Library
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, 2^nd Ed.
Encyclopedia of Latin America
Encyclopedia of Modern Europe: Europe 1789-1914-: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
Encyclopedia of Modern Europe: Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins - Experiences - and Culture
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Encyclopedia of the American Revolution (2 vols.)
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism
Europe, 1450-1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
Gale Encyclopedia of World History: Governments (2 vols.)
Gale Encyclopedia of World History: Wars (2 vols.)
Guide to Islamist Movement
Landmarks of the American Revolution
Lucent Library of Homeland Security
Lucent Terrorism Library
Medieval World 2003
Revolts - Protests - Demonstrations - and Rebellions in American History: An Encyclopedia
World War I Reference Library
World War II Reference Library
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Nations

EBSCO eBook Collection
African American History
American Indian Biographies
American Indian History
A-Z of Modern Europe Since 1789
Between Memory and History: The Evolution of Historiography of the Holocaust
A Biographical Dictionary of Ancient Egypt
Biographical Dictionary of British Prime Ministers
A Biographical Dictionary of Women Economists
Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology
A Concise History of the Middle East
A Dictionary of American History (Blackwell Reference)
A Dictionary of Contemporary History, 1945 to the Present
Dictionary of the Holocaust: Biography, Geography, and Terminology
Distinguished Asian Americans: A Biographical Dictionary
The Eleanor Roosevelt Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture
Encyclopedia of North American Indians
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Ancient World
Encyclopedia of World History
Facts About the Presidents: A Compilation of Biographical and Historical Information
Historical Dictionaries of of Ancient Civilizations and Historical Eras
Historical Dictionary of Burkina Faso (African Historical Dictionaries; No. 74)
Historical Dictionary of Late Medieval England, 1272-1485
Historical Dictionary of Modern China (1800-1949)
Historical Dictionary of Pakistan (Asian/Oceanian Historical Dictionaries No. 33)
Historical Dictionary of Taiwan (Republic of China) (Asian/Oceanian Historical Dictionaries; No. 34)
Historical Dictionary of the 1960s
Historical Dictionary of the 1970s
Historical Dictionary of the Great Depression, 1929-1940
The History of Argentina (Greenwood Histories of the Modern Nations)
The History of France (Greenwood Histories of the Modern Nations)
The History of India (Greenwood Histories of the Modern Nations)
A History of Medieval Islam
The Hutchinson Chronology of World History. Volume I, (Prehistory-AD 1491)
The Hutchinson Chronology of World History. Volume II, (1492-1775)
The Hutchinson Chronology of World History. Volume III, (1776-1900)
The Hutchinson Chronology of World History. Volume IV, (1901-2003)
The Hutchinson Dictionary of World History
Hutchinson Inside American History
International Conflict: A Chronological Encyclopedia of Conflicts and Their Management, 1945-1995
Medieval France: An Encyclopedia
Garland Reference Library of the Humanities; Vol. 932
Modern China: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism
Garland Reference Library of the Humanities; V. 1519
Nobel Prize Women in Science: Their Lives, Struggles, and Momentous Discoveries
Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary
Routledge Companions to History
Who's Who in the Ancient Near East (Who's Who Series)
Who's Who in the Greek World
World Leaders of the Twentieth Century(Magill's Choice)

Oxford Digital Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895
Encyclopedia of African American History 1896-present
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos/Latinas in the US
Oxford Encyclopedia of Meso American Culture
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation