Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Environmental Science Subject Research Guide: Print Resources

Key resources in Environmental Science

Searching for a Book?

Selected Reference Books

Google Books

Google Book Search

Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

Antarctica and the Arctic: The Complete Encyclopedia
REF G587 .M34 2001

The Atlas of Endangered Species
REF QH75 .M285 2008

The Atlas of Global Change
REF GE149 .G4813 1998

Botanical Latin: History, Grammar, Syntax, Terminology, and Vocabulary (4th ed.)
REF QK10 .S7 1995

The Cambridge Illustrated Glossary of Botanical Terms
REF QK10 .H53 2000

Conservation and Environmentalism: an Encyclopedia
REF GE10 .C68 1995

Dictionary of Ecology and the Environment
REF QH540.4 .C65 2001

Dictionary of Environmental Economics
REF HC79 .E5 D53 2001

Dictionary of Environmentally Important Chemicals
REF TD196 .C45 A97 1999

Dictionary of Water and Waste Management
REF TD9 .S37 2002

Ecology Basics (2 vols.)
REF QH540.4 .E39 2004

Encyclopedia of Agrochemicals (3 vols.)
REF S584.4 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society (5 vols.)
REF HM856 .E53 2007

Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies
REF TD9 .A84 2001

Encyclopedia of Soil Science
REF S592 .E517 2002

Encyclopedia of the Elements
REF QD466 .E56 2004

Environmental Encyclopedia (2 vols.)
REF GE10 .E57 2003

The Environmental Guidebook: a Selective Reference Guide to Environmental Organizations and Related Entities
REF TD171 .S76 2002

The Environmental Resource Handbook
REF GE20 .E586 2008/2009

The Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science
REF TD9 .W95 2001

Florida Coastal Environmental Resources
REF HC79 .E5 F57 2002

Freshwater Issues: a Reference Handbook
REF TD345 .S65 2002

Global Environment Outlook 3
REF GE170 .G5625 2002

Guide to Sustainable Development and Environmental Policy
REF HC79 .E5 G85 2001

Handbook of Environmental Data on Organic Chemicals( 2 vols.)
REF TD196.O73 V47 2001

Historical Dictionary of North American Environmentalism
REF GE10 .W45 1997

The Names of Plants (also available as e-book in ebrary)
REF QK96 .G54 2002

Ocean: An Illustrated Atlas
REF G2800 .E24 2009 ATLAS

OECD Factbook: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics (2005 ed.)
(current editions located in Credo Reference as eBooks)

One Planet, Many People: Atlas of Our Changing Environment
REF GE149 .O53 2005

The Oxford Companion to Global Change
REF GE149 .C84 2009

The Penguin Dictionary of Geography
REF G63 .C562 2003

The Plant-Book: a Portable Dictionary of the Vascular Plants
REF QK11 .M29 1997

Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary
REF S592 .S59 2001

U·X·L Encyclopedia of Biomes (3 vols.)
REF QH541.14 .U18 2000

Waste Management: A Reference Handbook
REF TD791 .V38 2009

The Wiley Encyclopedia of Energy and the Environment (2 vols.)
REF TJ163.235 .W55 1997

World at Risk: a Global Issues Sourcebook
REF JZ1242 .W67 2002

World Resources: a Report by the World Resources Institute and the International Institute for Environment and Development
REF HC10 .W827 2000-01

CIRCULATING: Shelved on 2nd Floor

Using the Agricultural, Environmental, and Food Literature
S494.5 .A39 U75 2002  

Careers in the Environment
GE60 .F37 2000 

Library Contact Information

Profile Photo
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476
Website

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Environmental may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

G       Geography (General)

GE     Environmental           Sciences

Q       Science (General)

QC     Physics

QD     Chemistry

QE     Geology

QK     Botany

QL     Zoology

S       Agriculture

TD     Enviromental           technology

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers