Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Environmental Science Subject Research Guide: Electronic Resources

Key resources in Environmental Science

Searching for a Book?

Ebooks

Online Reference Books

The list below includes a sample of encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, other reference resources that are searchable and readable online. To access these resources: 

  • click on this link:  eBooks and eReference Resources (or the ones below)
  • select the appropriate resource
  • log in with the user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email
  • search for a specific title or topic

Credo Reference
Animals and Science: A guide to the Debates
The Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists
Collins Dictionary of Biology
Concise Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology
Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology, Wiley
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology
Encyclopedia of Insects
Guide to Global Hazards
Guide to the Oceans
Handbook of Vegetable Pests
Illustrated Dictionary of Science, Andromeda
Macquarie Dictionary of Trees & Shrubs
The New Penguin Dictionary of Science
The Penguin Dictionary of Biology
Science in the Contemporary World: An Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Ebrary (aka ProQuest eBook Central)
Encyclopedia of Sustainability
Basics of Environmental Science
Environmental Science and Ethics
Building an Effective Environmental Management Science Program: Initial Assessment
Environmental and Pollution Science
Issues in Environmental Science and Technology: Global Environmental Change
Textbook of Environmental Science and Technology
Environmental Social Science: Human-Environment Interactions and Sustainability
Comprehensive Laboratory Manual for Environmental Science and Engineering
Linking Science and Technology to Society's Environmental Goals

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia of American Environmental History
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Environmental Justice: A Reference Handbook
Gale Encyclopedia of Science, 4th Ed.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Blackwell’s Concise Encyclopedia of Environmental Management
Careers for Environmental Types and Others Who Respect the Earth
Careers in the Environment
A Dictionary of Ecology (Ecology Basics)A Dictionary of Scientists
(
Oxford Paperback Reference)
Encyclopedia of Deserts
The Encyclopedia of Ecology & Environmental Management
Encyclopedia of Marine Science
Encyclopedia of Space Science & Technology
Endangered Species: A Reference Handbook
The Environment Dictionary
Environmental Hazards Radioactive Materials and Wastes: a Reference Handbook

Florida
Waters: a Water Resources Manual from Florida’s Water Management Districts
Guide to the Vascular Plants of Central Florida
Handbook of Ecotoxicology
The Hutchinson Dictionary of Plant Names
The Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography
The Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Science
The Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Biology
Magill's Dictionary of Science: Animal LIfe
Magill's Dictionary of Science: Plant Life
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Earth Science
Opportunities in Environmental Careers
Safe Work Practices for the Environmental Laboratory
The Scientific American Science Desk Reference
Scientists, Mathematicians, and Inventors: Lives and Legacies: an Encyclopedia of People Who Changed the World
Lives and Legacies
The Solar System (Magill's Choice)
Water Quality and Availability a Reference Handbook
The World's Coasts: Online

Oxford Digital Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Evolution
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature

Library Contact Information

Profile Photo
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476
Website

Google Books

Google Book Search