Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Entrepreneurship & Family Business Subject Research Guide

Key resources in Entrepreneurship & Family Business

Searching for a Book?

Selected Reference Books

Print Resources

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

Business Plans Handbook
REF HD 62.7 .B865 2002

Business: the Ultimate Resource (also available as an e-book)
REF HD38.15 .B878 2002

Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
REF HF5353.E52 2010

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries (2011 ed. available as an e-book)
REF HD2324 .E528 2007

Entrepreneurship: Critical Perspectives on Business & Management (4 vols.)
REF HB651.E6324 2002

Encyclopedia of Leadership (4 vols.)
REF HD57.7.E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Management (2009 ed. available as an e-book)
REF HD30.15 .E49 2006

Florida Statistical Abstract
REF HA311 .F55 2007

Hoover’s Handbook of American Business
REF HF3010.H6 2010

Hoover’s Handbook of Private Companies
REF HF3010 .H66 2008

Hoover’s Handbook of World Business
REF HF3010.H65 2011

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
REF HF5681.R25 I52

International Directory of Company Histories (71 vols.) (also available as an e-book)
REF HD2721.I63

Market Share Reporter (2 vols.) (2010 ed. available as an e-book)
REF HF5410.M35 2007

Online Legal Research Guide: to Accompany 2004 Business Law and Legal Environment Texts
REF KF888 .C55 2004

Salary Facts Handbook: The Definitive Source of Pay Information on 800 Jobs
REF HD4975 .S253 2008

Standard & Poor’s Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives (2 vols.)
REF HG4501 .S67664 2012

Standard & Poor’s Security Owner’s Stock Guide/Bond Guide
REF HG4921 .S618

Standard Corporation Descriptions
REF HG4501.S696eb

Statesman’s Yearbook
REF JA51.S7 2011

Statistical Abstract of the United States
REF HA202.U3 2011

United States Entrepreneurs and the Companies They Built (also available as an e-book)
REF HC102.5.A2 N237 2003

Ultimate Book of Franchises: From the Franchise Experts at Entrepreneur Magazine
REF HF5429.23 .L47 2007

West’s Business Law: Text & Cases
REF KF888 .C55 2004

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Business may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

HA   Statistics

HB   Economic theory. Demography

HC   Economic history and conditions

HD   Industries. Land use. Labor

HE   Transporation and communications

HF   Commerce

HG   Finance

HJ   Public finance

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers

Google Books

Google Book Search

Can't find the perfect book within these resources? Try Google Books! Google Books allows you to search for books on your topic available across the Internet. Use this Search box to get started. Note that clicking the "Search" button may load your search results in a new tab or window depending on your browser configuration settings.