Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Educational/Instructional Leadership Subject Research Guide

Key resources in Educational Leadership and Instructional Leadership

Selected Reference Books

Searching for a Book?

Google Books

Google Book Search


Can't find the perfect book within these resources? Try Google Books! Google Books allows you to search for books on your topic available across the Internet. Use this Search box to get started. Note that clicking the "Search" button may load your search results in a new tab or window depending on your browser configuration settings.

Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

400 quotable Quotes from the World’s Leading Educators
REF LB41 .A11 2004

The Almanac of American Education
REF LA217.2 .A45 2005

American Public School Law
REF KF4118 .A39 2005

Condition of Education (irreg., 1976-2004)
REF L112 .N377a

Digest of Education Statistics (irreg., 1964-2003)
REF L11 .D48

Education Law, 3rd edition
REF KF4118 .I43 2004

Education State Rankings
REF LA217.2 .E382 (2002-03)

Educational Leadership : A Reference Handbook
LB2805 .W517 2002 (on 2nd floor)

Education Statistics of the United States, 4th edition
REF LA201 .E38 2003

Encyclopedia of American Education (3 vols.)
REF LB17 .U54 2001

Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning
REF LC5211 .E52 2004

Encyclopedia of Education (8 vols.)
REF LB15 .E47

Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration
REF LB2805 .E527 2006

Encyclopedia of Leadership
REF HD 57.7 E53 2004

Field Guide to Academic Leadership
LB2341 .F43 2002  (on 2nd floor)

Finding Your Leadership Style : A Guide for Educators
LB2806.4 .G5317 2002 (on 2nd floor)

Florida School Laws
REF
KFF390 .A29 F56 2001

From Standards to Success : A Guide for School Leaders
LB3060.83 .O84 2005 (on 2nd floor)

Greenwood Dictionary of Education
REF LB15 .G68 2003

Handbook of Instructional Leadership : How Successful Principals Promote Teaching and Learning
LB2806.4 .B63 2004 (on 2nd floor)

Handbook of Research on Educational Communications and Technology
REF LB1028.3 H355 2004

Key Ideas in Educational Research
REF LB1028 .S338 2006

Learning Theories, A to Z
REF LB15 .L4695 2002

Mental Measurements Yearbook
REF LB1131 .M4 (irreg., 1953-2003)

The Principal's Companion : Strategies and Hints to Make the Job Easier
LB2831.92 .R63 2003 (on 2nd floor)

Projections of Educational Statistics
REF LA210 .A28 (irreg., 1991, 1993, 2002, 2003)

Standards for Educational & Psychological Testing
REF LB3051 .A693 1999

Testing and Standards: A Brief Encyclopedia
REF LB3051 .W4966 2002

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Educational/Instructional Leadership may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

         Education (General)

LA        History of education

LB        Theory and practice of education

LC        Special aspects of education       

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers