Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Counseling Subject Research Guide: Print Resources

Key resources in Counseling

Searching for a Book?

Google Books

Google Book Search

Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. Titles include:

APA Dictionary of Psychology
REF BF31 .A65 2007

An A-Z of Counselling Theory & Practice, 3rd edition
REF BF637 .C6 S768 2001

Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology & Counseling
REF BF31 .B25 1999

Cabell’s Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Psychology
REF BF30 C25 2005

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment (4 vols)
REF BF176 .C654 2004

Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology
REF BF31 .C67 1998

The Counseling Dictionary: Concise Definitions of Frequently Used Terms
REF BF637.C6 G5332 2006

Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling
REF
BV4011 M37

Dictionary of Multicultural Psychology: Issues, Terms and Concepts
REF GN502 H336 2005

Dictionary of Psychology
REF BF31 .C65 2006

Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior
REF R726.5 E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment
REF BF39 .E497 2003 v.1-2

Encyclopedia of Psychology
REF BF31 .E52 2000 v.1-8

Encyclopedia of Rape
REF HV6558 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Suicide
REF HV6545 .E87 2003

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders
REF
 RC437 .G35 2003

The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
REF BF31 .G35 2001 (Also available as e-book at Gale Virtual Reference Library)

Handbook of Child Psychology
REF BF721 .H242 2006 v.1-4

Handbook of Psychology (12 vols.)
REF BF121 .H1955 2003 

International Dictionary of Psychoanalysis
REF RC501.4 .D4313 2005 

Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook(2 vols.)
REF
BF176 .C66 2000 (circulating copy on 2nd floor)

The Psychology of Individual Differences (4 vols.)
REF BF697 .P768 2003

Positive Psychological Assessment: A Handbook of Models & Measures
REF BF176 .P67 2003

The Psychology of Individual Differences (4 vols.)
REF BF697 .P768 2003 

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
REF BF76.7 .P83 2010

Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms
REF BF32 .T48 2005

Library Contact Information

Profile Photo
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476
Website

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Counseling may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

BF   Psychology

BJ   Ethics

BL   Religions, Mythology, Rationalism

HM  Sociology (General)

HQ  The Family, marriage and women

HV  Social Pathology, Social & Public Welfare, Criminology

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers