Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Psychology Subject Research Guide: Print Reference Books

Key resources in psychology

Searching for a Book?

Selected Reference Books

Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

APA Dictionary of Psychology
REF BF31 .A65 2007

Adolescent Health Sourcebook
REF RJ140 .A335 2007

Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology & Counseling
REF BF31 .B25 1999

The Brain and Brain Disorders (2nd Edition)
REF QP376 .T87 2002

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Psychology
REF BF30 .C25 2005

Companion Encyclopedia of Psychology
REF BF31 .C66 1994 v.1-2

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment (4 vols.)
REF BF 176 .C654 2004

Concise Encyclopedia of Pain Psychology
REF RB127 .F55 2005

Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology
REF BF31 .C67 1998

Concise Rules of APA Style
BF76.7 .C66 2010 (on Reserve at Circulation Desk)

Dictionary of Biological Psychology
REF QP360 .D52 2001

Dictionary of Cognitive Science
REF BF311 .V56713 2004

Dictionary of Multicultural Psychology: Issues, Terms, and Concepts
REF GN502 .H336 2005

Dictionary of Psychology
REF BF31 .C65 2001

Educational Psychology: A Century of Contributions
REF LB1051 .E3612 2003

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
REF BF311 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
REF GN502 .E63 2006

The Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears, and Anxieties
REF RC535 .D63 2008

Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment
REF BF39 .E497 2003 v.1-2

Encyclopedia of Psychology
REF BF31 .E52 2000 v.1-8

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders
REF RC437 .G35 2003

The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
REF BF31 .G35 2001

Handbook of Child Psychology
REF BF721 .H242 2006 v.1-4

Handbook of Educational Psychology
REF LB1051 .H2354 2006

Handbook of Psychological Assessment
REF BF176 .C76 1997

Handbook of Psychology (12 vols.)
REF BF121 .H1955 2003

International Dictionary of Psychoanalysis (3 vols.)
REF 501.4 .D4313 2005

Learning & Memory
REF BF318 .E53 2003

Mastering APA Style: Instructor's Resource Guide
REF BF76.8 .G452 2010 (on Reserve at the Circulation Desk)

Mastering APA Style: Student's Workbook and Training Guide
BF76.8 .G452 2010 (on Reserve at the Circulation Desk)

Mental Measurements Yearbook
REF LB1131 .M4 2010

Measures for Clinical Practice (2 vols.)
REF BF176 .C66 2000

Memory From A to Z: Keywords, Concepts & Beyond
REF QP406 .D843 2002

The Oxford Companion to the Mind
REF BF31 .O94 2004

Positive Psychological Assessment: A Handbook of Models and Measures
REF BF176 .P67 2003

Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia
REF LB1060 .P89 2009

The Psychology of Individual Differences (4 vols.)
REF BF697 .P768 2003

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms
REF BF76.7 .P83 2010

Social Psychology 
REF HM1033 .S634 2003

Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms
REF BF32. T48 2001

Library Contact Information

Reference Desk's picture
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476
Website

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Psychology may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

B     Philosophy (General)

BC   Logic

BF   Psychology

BJ   Ethics

BL   Religions, Mythology, Rationalism

HM  Sociology (General)

HQ  The Family, marriage and women

HV  Social Pathology, Social & Public Welfare, Criminology

RC   Internal Medicine (Psychiatry)

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers

Google Books

Google Book Search