HON499_Fall 2024_Moon Library Instruction_Harris: Melissa

After each major corporate scandal, new suggestions for combatting fraud emerge from regulators and industry professionals. Despite changes to guidelines for firms' corporate governance, augmented protection for whistle blowers, and enhanced cybersecurity measures, evidence documents an alarming increase in the prevalence and severity of corporate fraud. The rapidly changing laws aimed at curbing corporate fraud sometimes lag behind the changing sophistication of fraud schemes.  Corporate Fraud Exposed discusses the motivations and drivers of fraud including agency theory, executive compensation, and organizational culture. It examines fraud's consequences for various firm stakeholders and its spillover effects to other corporations, the political environment, and financial market participants, including those who participate via crowdfunding platforms.   This book provides a fresh look at this intriguing but often complex subject. It skillfully blends the contributions of a global array of scholars and practitioners into a single review of some of the most important topics in this area. Given its broad scope, this practical and comprehensive title should be of interest to anyone curious about corporate fraud.

Every day presents new challenges as the face of global economics changes. But in a world of uncertainty, how is the world of finance and economics adjusting to address these new issues?  In this first book in the Emerald Studies in Finance, Insurance, and Risk Management, expert contributors from around the world come together to discuss and address the emerging issues in global economics. Including chapters on international migration in Europe, theories on finance and accounting, labour studies, international economic policy and its effect, affecting factors on financial and capital markets, and the relationship between internal stock markets, Uncertainty and Challenges in Contemporary Economic Behaviour tackles the questions, concerns, and fears of the modern face of global economics.  A fundamental text for any researcher or student of business and economics, this exciting new series investigates and examines some of the most prevalent questions in contemporary economics.

Prelims -- Chapter 1: Challenges and Perspectives of International Migration in Europe within the Brexit Framework -- Chapter 2: The Impact of US Economic Policy Uncertainty on Developing Countries Under Different Economic Cycles: A Nonlinear Approach -- Chapter 3: The Investigation of Zombie Firms' Existence in Borsa İstanbul Manufacturing Industry -- Chapter 4: Forensic Accounting Theory --

An essential guide for practitioners on avoiding unethical situations in a fraud investigation--provides tips, techniques, and real-life examples Credentialed accountants, auditors, and fraud examiners who fail to identify fraud and misconduct may be in violation of their professional standards. Among these standards are requirements to exercise professional and moral judgment, act in the best interest of the public, maintain integrity, objectivity, and independence, render opinions based on evidence and documentation, and exercise due care in planning and discharging professional activities. Failing to adhere to professional standards and ethical codes have serious consequences for CPAs, CFEs, and CIAs engaged in fraud investigations. Fraud helps readers avoid unethical situations in fraud investigations and stay within the boundaries of professional guidelines and standards. Author Jeffrey Matthews combines real-world techniques and practical advice with personal insights from his experience as a forensic accountant. Detailing how he faced death threats, retaliation, and family hardships during actual fraud investigations, the author shares how despite serious challenges, he never deviated from professional standards. The author demonstrates how accountants can avoid being caught in unethical practices and examines the common tendencies that hinder the ability to detect, deter, and prevent fraud and misconduct. This fascinating, highly-relevant book will help practitioners: Recognize current and emerging trends to identify new areas of weakness Address time and budget constraints with effective delegation and supervision of lower-level staff Maintain a healthy dose of skepticism by 'testing not accepting' Understand the effort and expertise required to perform an investigation before accepting engagements Avoid establishing biases and pre-determining outcomes before accepting assignments A full-featured resource, complete with PowerPoint slides and a test bank, Fraud is invaluable for auditors, accountants, and other certified fraud examiners.

Measure business interruption losses with confidence You hope for the best and plan for the worst. It's your job. But when the unimaginable happens, are you truly prepared for those business interruption losses? Measuring Business Interruption Losses and Other Commercial Damages is the only book in the field that explains the complicated process of measuring business interruption damages after you've been hit by the unexpected, whether the losses are from natural or man-made disasters, or whether the performance of one company adversely affects the performance of another. Understand the methodology for how lost profits should be measured Deal with the many common types of cases in business interruption lawsuits in commercial litigation Take a look at exhibits, tables, and graphs Benefit from updated data, case studies, and case law references Don't get caught off guard. Get ahead of planning for measuring your interruption losses before disaster strikes.

Strategically integrate AI into your organization to compete in the tech era The rise of artificial intelligence is nothing short of a technological revolution. AI is poised to completely transform accounting and auditing professions, yet its current application within these areas is limited and fragmented. Existing AI implementations tend to solve very narrow business issues, rather than serving as a powerful tech framework for next-generation accounting. Artificial Intelligence for Audit, Forensic Accounting, and Valuation provides a strategic viewpoint on how AI can be comprehensively integrated within audit management, leading to better automated models, forensic accounting, and beyond. No other book on the market takes such a wide-ranging approach to using AI in audit and accounting. With this guide, you'll be able to build an innovative, automated accounting strategy, using artificial intelligence as the cornerstone and foundation. This is a must, because AI is quickly growing to be the single competitive factor for audit and accounting firms. With better AI comes better results. If you aren't integrating AI and automation in the strategic DNA of your business, you're at risk of being left behind. See how artificial intelligence can form the cornerstone of integrated, automated audit and accounting services Learn how to build AI into your organization to remain competitive in the era of automation Go beyond siloed AI implementations to modernize and deliver results across the organization Understand and overcome the governance and leadership challenges inherent in AI strategy Accounting and auditing firms need a comprehensive framework for intelligent, automation-centric modernization. Artificial Intelligence for Audit, Forensic Accounting, and Valuation delivers just that--a plan to evolve legacy firms by building firmwide AI capabilities.

Recently, financial crimes have increased exponentially in many regions of the world. Considering that these crimes are usually due to accounting fraud, more sensitive and effective approaches to accounting fraud and corruption have started developing. In this context, regulations have been put into practice in many countries for measures to be taken against fraud and corruption.  It is not possible to take measures against and fight financial crimes by using old traditional methods. Instead, the field of Forensic Accounting has arisen to directly tackle these issues. In the 18 chapters in this volume of Contemporary Studies in Economic and Financial Analysis, expert contributors gather together to examine the extent and characteristics of forensic accounting, a field which has been practiced for many years, but is still not internationally regulated yet.

Become the forensic analytics expert in your organization using effective and efficient data analysis tests to find anomalies, biases, and potential fraud--the updated new edition Forensic Analytics reviews the methods and techniques that forensic accountants can use to detect intentional and unintentional errors, fraud, and biases. This updated second edition shows accountants and auditors how analyzing their corporate or public sector data can highlight transactions, balances, or subsets of transactions or balances in need of attention. These tests are made up of a set of initial high-level overview tests followed by a series of more focused tests. These focused tests use a variety of quantitative methods including Benford's Law, outlier detection, the detection of duplicates, a comparison to benchmarks, time-series methods, risk-scoring, and sometimes simply statistical logic. The tests in the new edition include the newly developed vector variation score that quantifies the change in an array of data from one period to the next. The goals of the tests are to either produce a small sample of suspicious transactions, a small set of transaction groups, or a risk score related to individual transactions or a group of items. The new edition includes over two hundred figures. Each chapter, where applicable, includes one or more cases showing how the tests under discussion could have detected the fraud or anomalies. The new edition also includes two chapters each describing multi-million-dollar fraud schemes and the insights that can be learned from those examples. These interesting real-world examples help to make the text accessible and understandable for accounting professionals and accounting students without rigorous backgrounds in mathematics and statistics. Emphasizing practical applications, the new edition shows how to use either Excel or Access to run these analytics tests. The book also has some coverage on using Minitab, IDEA, R, and Tableau to run forensic-focused tests. The use of SAS and Power BI rounds out the software coverage. The software screenshots use the latest versions of the software available at the time of writing. This authoritative book: Describes the use of statistically-based techniques including Benford's Law, descriptive statistics, and the vector variation score to detect errors and anomalies Shows how to run most of the tests in Access and Excel, and other data analysis software packages for a small sample of the tests Applies the tests under review in each chapter to the same purchasing card data from a government entity Includes interesting cases studies throughout that are linked to the tests being reviewed. Includes two comprehensive case studies where data analytics could have detected the frauds before they reached multi-million-dollar levels Includes a continually-updated companion website with the data sets used in the chapters, the queries used in the chapters, extra coverage of some topics or cases, end of chapter questions, and end of chapter cases. Written by a prominent educator and researcher in forensic accounting and auditing, the new edition of Forensic Analytics: Methods and Techniques for Forensic Accounting Investigations is an essential resource for forensic accountants, auditors, comptrollers, fraud investigators, and graduate students.