Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Handbook of TESOL in K-12 by
Publication Date: 2019-04-13
The first handbook to explore the field of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages in elementary and secondary education (K-12) The number of students being educated in English has grown significantly in modern times -- globalization, immigration, and evolving educational policies have prompted an increased need for English language learner (ELL) education. The Handbook of TESOL in K-12 combines contemporary research and current practices to provide a comprehensive overview of the origins, evolution, and future direction of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages at the elementary and secondary levels (K-12). Exploring the latest disciplinary and interdisciplinary issues in the field, this is a first-of-its-kind Handbook and contributions are offered from a team of internationally-renowned scholars. Comprehensive in scope, this essential Handbook covers topics ranging from bilingual language development and technology-enhanced language learning, to ESOL preparation methods for specialist and mainstream teachers and school administrators. Three sections organize the content to cover Key Issues in Teaching ESOL students in K-12, Pedagogical Issues and Practices in TESOL in K-12 Education, and School Personnel Preparation for TESOL in K-12. Satisfies a need for inclusive and in-depth research on TESOL in K-12 classrooms Presents a timely and interesting selection of topics that are highly relevant to working teachers and support staff Applies state-of-the-art research to real-world TESOL classroom settings Offers a balanced assessment of diverse theoretical foundations, concepts, and findings The Handbook of TESOL in K-12 is an indispensable resource for undergraduate and graduate students, researchers and scholars, and educators in the field of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages in elementary and secondary education.
Language and Literacy Development for English Language Learners by
Publication Date: 2012-03-30
A number of books and studies have shed light on the value of professionals working together to address the language and literacy needs of ELLs with communication differences and/or disorders. However, few resources have directly and intentionally addressed the merging of the two disciplines - speech-language pathology and English as a second language, in effecting change in language and literacy. Thus, there is a gap in the literature. This book influences how the disciplines of speech-language pathology and English as a second language view and incorporate the roles of professionals in working with ELLs.
Teaching Science to English Language Learners by
Publication Date: 2010-09-13
Books in the Teaching English Language Learners (ELLs) across the Curriculum Series are written specifically for pre- and in- service teachers who may not have been trained in ELL techniques, but still find themselves facing the realities and challenges of today's diverse classrooms and learners. Each book provides simple and straightforward advice on how to teach ELLs through a given subject area, and how to teach content to ELLs who are at different levels of English language proficiency than the rest of their class. Authored by both language and content area specialists, each volume arms readers with practical, teacher-friendly strategies, and subject-specific techniques. Teaching Science to English Language Learners offers science teachers and teacher educators a straightforward approach for engaging ELLs learning science, offering examples of easy ways to adapt existing lesson plans to be more inclusive. The practical, teacher-friendly strategies and techniques included here are proven effective with ELLs, and many are also effective with all students. The book provides context-specific strategies for the full range of the secondary sciences curriculum, including physical science, life science, earth and space science, science as inquiry, and history and nature of science and more. A fully annotated list of web and print resources completes the book, making this a one volume reference to help science teachers meet the challenges of including all learners in effective instruction. Special features: practical examples of science exercises make applying theory to practice simple when teaching science to ELLs an overview of the National Science Education Standards offers useful guidelines for effective instructional and assessment practices for ELLs in secondary grades graphs, tables, and illustrations provide additional access points to the text in clear, meaningful ways.
Teaching Language Arts to English Language Learners by
Publication Date: 2013-03-12
This thoroughly revised and updated edition of Teaching Language Arts to English Language Learners provides readers with the comprehensive understanding of both the challenges that face ELLs and ways in which educators might address them in the language arts classroom. The authors offer proven techniques that teachers can readily use to teach reading, writing, grammar, and vocabulary as well as speaking, listening, and viewing skills. A complete section is also devoted to ways teachers can integrate all five strands of the language arts curriculum into a comprehensive unit of study with meaningful accommodations for ELLs. An annotated list of web and print resources completes the volume, making this a valuable reference for language arts teachers to meet the challenges of including all learners in effective instruction. New features to this edition include: An updated and streamlined Part 1, which provides an essential overview of ELL theory in a language arts specific context. Additional practical examples of language arts exercises, all of which are closely aligned with the Common Core State Standards. New pedagogical elements in Part 3, including tips on harnessing new technologies, discussion questions and reflection points. Updates to the web and print resources in Part 4
Race, Culture, and Identities in Second Language Education by
Publication Date: 2009-06-02
The concept and construct of race is often implicitly yet profoundly connected to issues of culture and identity. Meeting an urgent need for empirical and conceptual research that specifically explores critical issues of race, culture, and identities in second language education, the key questions addressed in this groundbreaking volume are these: How are issues of race relevant to second language education? How does whiteness influence students' and teachers' sense of self and instructional practices? How do discourses of racialization influence the construction of student identities and subjectivities? How do discourses on race, such as colorblindness, influence classroom practices, educational interventions, and parental involvement? How can teachers transform the status quo? Each chapter is grounded in theory and provides implications for engaged practice. Topics cover a wide range of themes that emerge from various pedagogical contexts. Authors from diverse racial/ethnic/cultural backgrounds and geopolitical locations include both established and beginning scholars in the field, making the content vibrant and stimulating. Pre-reading Questions and Discussion Questions in each chapter facilitate comprehension and encourage dialogue.
Reconceptualizing Literacy in the New Age of Multiculturalism and Pluralism by
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
A volume in Literacy, Language and Learning Series Editors: Claudia Finkbeiner, Universitaet Kassel; Althier M. Lazar, Saint Joseph's University; Wen Ma, Le Moyne College The 2nd Edition of Reconceptualizing Literacy in the New Age of Multiculturalism and Pluralism honors the genius of Dr. Peter Mosenthal. His contributions to the field of literacy were unprecedented. Many described him as a superb researcher who never lost sight of the purpose of education. He made us laugh as he led us in a nursery rhyme song during his National Reading Conference (LRA) Presidential Address and made us think as he explained the significance of educational implications in all research articles. He also mentored and taught graduate students in gentle and carefully attentive ways, showing his respect and appreciation for the work of each individual in the field. He was a remarkable person. The second edition of this book includes many experienced and new scholars from around the world. Qualitative and quantitative research methodologies are scattered throughout and the practical and theoretical are well represented. New Literacies and Global Perspectives are added sections in this volume. In this era of the "Common Core," Reconceptualizing Literacy in the New Age of Multiculturalism and Pluralism, presents a rational educational balance for literacy development across the curriculum.
Matching Books and Readers by
Publication Date: 2010-08-09
Providing practical guidance and resources, this book helps teachers harness the power of children's literature for developing ELLs' literacy skills and language proficiency. The authors show how carefully selected fiction, nonfiction, and poetry can support students' learning across the curriculum. Criteria and guiding questions are presented for matching books and readers based on text features, literacy and language proficiency, and student background knowledge and interests. Interspersed throughout are essays and poems by well-known children's authors that connect in a personal way with the themes explored in the chapters. The annotated bibliography features over 600 engaging, culturally relevant trade titles.
Moving from spoken to written language with ELLs by
Publication Date: 2014
This work explores how oral language development sets the foundation for developing writing skills. It provides tools to implement this knowledge through spoken techniques such as Socratic Seminar, Frayer model and Think-Pair-Share that build vocabulary and extend into academic writing; approaches to teaching three essential styles of writing: argumentative, procedural, and narrative; and sample lesson plans and graphic organizer templates.
English Learners Left Behind by
Publication Date: 2008-02-27
This book explores how high-stakes tests mandated by No Child Left Behind have become de facto language policy in U.S. schools, detailing how testing has shaped curriculum and instruction, and the myriad ways that tests are now a defining force in the daily lives of English Language Learners and the educators who serve them.