Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some recent journal articles
Some e-Books - click on the blue link to read entire book
The Surprising Lives of Small-Town Doctors by
Publication Date: 2016-04-22
In The Surprising Lives of Small-Town Doctors, physicians put down their stethoscopes and pick up their pens to share some of the most frightening and pivotal moments of their careers. From making igloo house calls to bandaging animal bites to performing surgeries they may have only read about in textbooks, these young doctors speak of the many rewards of practising medicine in small communities. They also detail the fears, failures, and challenges of providing health care in the farthest reaches of our country--where the need for doctors is the greatest. Collectively, these stories capture the spirit, innovation, and resilience of these rural doctors and the communities they serve.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
Publication Date: 2018 to current
This encyclopedia will provide overview essays in five major subject areas: body systems and functions, issues and theories, techniques and practices, devices and equipment, and treatments and therapies. A key terms box accompanies all major entries.
301 Careers in Nursing by
Publication Date: 2017-04-01
Written for nurses of all education and experience levels, 301 Careers in Nursing highlights the exceptional array of diverse opportunities available to those interested in a career in nursing. Each of the carefully selected and researched careers described in this book embraces the core dimensions of nursing: caring, competence, and commitment to excellence in caring for others at all stages of life. If you are considering a career in nursing, if you know someone who is considering a career in nursing, if you are a guidance counselor, or if you are already a nurse but considering a change, you will benefit from this resource to the most prominent careers in nursing today. This edition features 100 additional career options, with an emphasis on those available to the growing number of advanced practice nurses. Also new to this edition are 25 interviews from nurses practicing in a multitude of areas. These snapshots give you an inside look at opportunities in academia and practice settings that might be unfamiliar. Each career entry includes: Career descriptionEducational requirementsCore competencies and skillsRelated websites and professional organizations
101+ Careers in Public Health by
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Praise for the First Edition: First rate advice. American Public Health Association In just the past few years, interest in public health careers has soared. Public health degrees are more popular than everobut what opportunities are out there once youive earned that MPH? And do you have to have to have a degree in public health to break into this field? This updated and revised second edition of 101+ Careers in Public Health provides an extensive overview of the numerous and diverse career options available and the many different roads to achieving them. It includes both familiar public health careers and emerging opportunities. New to the second edition are public health careers in the military, public health and aging, and careers in cutting-edge areas such as nanotechnology and public health genetics. Readers will learn about modern approaches to public health programs, including the evolving study of implementation science and the increased role of community-based participatory research. The second edition also presents expanded information on getting started in public health, including the increasingly popular field of global health. Included are descriptions of careers in disease prevention, environmental health, disaster preparedness, nutrition, education, public safety, and many more. Whether you are a student who wants to launch a career or a professional looking to change careers, this guide offers a straightforward introduction to the public health field. It details the training, salary ranges, and degree requirements for each job and alerts readers to alternative pathways beyond the traditional MPH. New to the Second Edition: Public health careers in the military Public health and aging Expanded information on global health careers and how to get started in global health Careers in cutting-edge domains of public health, such as nanotechnology and public health genetics The evolving roles of implementation science and community participatory research MD or MPH? The differences between healthcare and public health Key Features: Includes a detailed guide to educational paths, options, and training requirements at the bachelor's, master's, and PhD levels Offers guidance on navigating the job market through both traditional and nontraditional pathways Provides tips on landing the job you want Includes interviews with public health professionals who offer details of their day-to-day lives on the job Helps job-seekers just starting out and those interested in career change
Advanced Practice Palliative Nursing by
Publication Date: 2016-03-24
Advanced Practice Palliative Nursing is the first text devoted to advanced practice nursing care of the seriously ill and dying. This comprehensive work addresses all aspects of palliative care including physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs. Chapters include: symptoms common inserious illness, pediatric palliative care, spiritual and existential issues, issues around the role and function of the advanced practice nurse (APN), reimbursement, and nursing leadership on palliative care teams. Each chapter contains case examples and a strong evidence base to support thehighest quality of care. The text is written by leaders in the field and includes authors who have pioneered the role of the advanced practice nurse in palliative care.This volume offers advanced practice content and practical resources for clinical practice across all settings of care and encompassing all ages, from pediatrics to geriatrics.
Collaborating in Healthcare by
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
This book is about a vital aspect of healthcare; that is, how people collaborate. At the heart of this book is the RESPECT Model of Collaboration in healthcare produced during a doctoral research project. Following this research a number of practitioners have explored this model in their practice and they were invited to write up their experiences and insights in a number of chapters in this book. The intended audience for this book includes healthcare practitioners, educators, managers and others with an interest in how people in healthcare collaborate. Readers will be invited to look at ways that this dynamic model can be utilised insightfully in their practice. In the RESPECT Model, collaboration is presented as: R Reflexive E Endeavours (in) S Supportive P Practice (for) E Engaged C Centred-on-People T Teamwork The title RESPECT reflects the goal and practice of patient-centred care. The model is not presented as a universal approach for people to adopt in their practice but rather it offers ideas to explore, expand and critique to build an even greater understanding of the complex phenomenon of collaboration and to create our own ways of practising respectfully. This reciprocal and synergistic way of working is exactly what respect and collaborating is about. By engaging with others' experiences and conceptualisations, this book is an expanded version of the initial thesis. The model serves as a means of influencing other people's practices which in turn can develop and challenge the model. There are four sections in the book: Professional relationships A study of collaboration in healthcare Applying the RESPECT Model of Collaboration in healthcare practice Educational applications of the RESPECT Model of Collaboration.