Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Health and Aging by
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Health and Aging. This one-volume encyclopedia presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on health and aging. The 250 entries and relevant appendices cover: biological; psychological; social; and economic aspects of health and aging and impacts within health-care systems. As an ever increasing percentage of the population of western societies enters `old age', health issues grow in importance in terms of the well-being of this population, economic impact within the health-care system, impacts on families and family relationships and in so many other ways. The Encyclopedia of Health and Aging covers issues including: - acute illness; - Alzheimer's disease; - bereavement; - cataracts; - centenarians; - dementia; - economic; - dependency; - exercise; - health care costs; - health promotion; - hospice care; - long-term care; - managed care; - medications; - menopause; - nursing homes; - nutrition; - obesity; - optimal aging; - osteoporosis; - Parkinson's disease; - public policy; - `quality of life'; - religiosity; - sexual function; - sleep disturbances; - smoking; - spousal care-giving; - stroke; - widowhood; - wisdom. Also included are landmark studies: Duke Longitudinal Study of Aging; Framingham Heart Study; MacArthur Study of Successful Aging; Established Populations for the Epidemiologic Studies of the Elderly (EPESE); Health and Retirement Study (HRS); and National Long-Term Care Survey, as well as important social and health programmes including: social security, `meals on wheels' and Medicaid/Medicare. The Encyclopedia of Health and Aging is cross-disciplinary, with contributions from the fields of: gerontology; epidemiology; health psychology; biology; sociology; health and medicine; and public policy.
The Encyclopedia of Aging by
Since its inception in 1987, Encyclopedia of Aging has proven to be the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics. Like its three esteemed predecessors, the fourth edition contains concise, readable explorations of hundreds of terms, concepts, and issues related to the lives of older adults, as well as timely coverage of the many new programs and services for the elderly. Updated, under the distinguished stewardship of editor-in-chief Richard Schulz to reflect the infusion of new information across the scientific disciplines, this new edition brings readers up-to-the-moment significant advances in biology, physiology, genetics, medicine, psychology, nursing, social services, sociology, economics, technology, and political science. While retaining the format and standard of excellence that marked the first three editions, the fourth edition encompasses a wealth of new information from the social and health sciences. It contains the most current bibliography of an expanding literature, an exhaustive index, and extensive cross references. This much anticipated update of the field's most authoritative resource will take its place as an indispensable reference for specialists and non-specialists across a broad range of disciplines that now comprise the field of aging.
The Encyclopedia of Social Work by
Publication Date: 2008-04-17
The 400 articles this 4-volume set cover all aspects of social work from practice and interventions, social environments, social conditions and challenges, to social policy and history.This new edition of the Encyclopedia includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster. Each thoughtful article is written and signed by a top academic or social work practitioner and includes a bibliography for further reading. For even further ease of use, all volumes are fully cross-referenced and includes a complete Index.This convenient and authoritative core reference work is an essential tool for fact-finding, studying for licensing exams, supplementing course work, initiating literature searches, and supporting practice decisions. The Encyclopedia presents an in-depth look at the ever-changing field of social work. The foundation of any social work collection, the Encyclopedia will be a treasured addition to the library of practitioner, scholar, and student alike.