ENG 122: Research Assignment: Secondary Sources

What is a Secondary Source?

"Any published or unpublished work that is one step removed from the original source, usually describing, summarizing, analyzing, evaluating, derived from, or based on primary source materials..." (The Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science)

Examples:

Critical analysis essays and review articles
Articles about people and events from the past
Biographies
Historical films, music, and art
Textbooks

Searching for a Book?

Search the Library Collections
OCLC Worldcat, our online library catalog, contains books and ebooks, articles, reference materials, magazines/journals/newspapers, journal articles and videos/DVD's
more...less...
To perform a search in the, type your search term(s) in the search box and click on Search. Your results will be displayed on the screen. You may refine your results using the menu on the left.
WorldCat
WorldCat lets you search the collections of over 10,000 libraries around the world. To request a book from another library, use the Interlibrary Loan/Book Request form below.
Interlibrary Loan/Book Request Form
Complete and submit this form to request a book from another library.
more...less...
Interlibrary loans can take anywhere from 2 days to 4 weeks, depending upon location and availability.

Online Databases: Journal Articles

The databases listed below provide abstracts and full text articles from peer reviewed journals, non-peer reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers. (A peer reviewed journal consists of articles that have been reviewed by a panel of subject experts before they are approved for publication.)

To access these databases, click on the title and login with the same user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email.

EBSCO

Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. After logging in to EBSCO, click on "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases." Select Academic Search Complete and any other appropriate databases, then click on "Continue." Click "on Advanced Search" and enter your keywords in the search boxes.

Academic Search Complete

**********************************************

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher contains unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy, as well as chemistry-related reports to Congress.

JSTOR

Includes a wide range of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Proquest

Business and academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles.

Sage Premier

Covers subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, medicine and more.

Can't find the full text of an article?

If you cannot find the full text of an article in the database you are using, follow the steps below to locate the article:

A-to-Z List for E-Resources
Use the A-to-Z Eresource list and type the name of the journal that contains your article in the search box, to see if it is available in another database.
Print Periodical List
Search this list to see if we have a print (hard copy) of the journal in the Cannon Memorial Library. If so, click on the Interlibrary Loan Link below to request that the article be sent to you.
Interlibrary Loan/Article Request Form

If you would like to request an article from the Cannon Memorial Library print periodical collection or to see if the article is available from another library, complete and submit the Article Request form.

Sample Search

Sample Search/EBSCO

Click on "Sample Search" below to see an example of a search in EBSCO.