LIBRARY
PSY 523: Classroom Management: Ethics and Diversity in the Classroom: Home
Basic Resources
- Encyclopedia of multicultural psychology The Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology is the first authoritative guide to synthesize the dynamic field of multicultural psychology. This volume includes entries on a broad array of issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. The Encyclopedia addresses culture across a broad spectrum of psychological perspectives and includes topics that are relevant to social psychology, cognitive psychology, environmental psychology, cross-cultural psychology, and clinical psychology.
- Encyclopedia of social psychology The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is designed as a road map to this rapidly growing and important field and provides individuals with a simple, clear, jargon-free introduction. These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. Entries provide brief, clear, and readable explanations to the vast number of ideas and concepts that make up the intellectual and scientific content in the area of social psychology.
- Encyclopedia of educational psychology. Vol. 1 The field of educational psychology draws from a variety of diverse disciplines including human development across the life span, measurement and statistics, learning and motivation, and teaching. And within these different disciplines, many other fields are featured including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counseling, history, and philosophy. In fact, when taught at the college or university level, educational psychology is an ambitious course that undertakes the presentation of many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an'educational'setting, loosely defined as anything from pre-school through adult education. Educational psychology can be defined as the application of what we know about learning and motivation, development, and measurement and statistics to educational settings (both school- and community-based).
- Encyclopedia of cognitive psychology This book presents current research in the field of cognitive psychology. Topics discussed include a new perspective on human consciousness; cognitive rehabilitation in middle-aged alzheimer patients; cognitive theory of obsessions; the cognitive effects of anxiety on sexual arousal; conceptual combination; TP-theory as a new perspective on cognitive psychology; peripheral responses elicited by motor imagery and preverbal category formation
- Encyclopedia of human development The Encyclopedia of Human Development is the first comprehensive, authoritative, and informative reference work that presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from the fields of psychology, individual and family studies, and education in a way that is not too technical. With more than 600 entries, this three-volume Encyclopedia covers topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament, and more.
- Encyclopedia of ethics A revised, expanded and updated edition with contributions by 325 renowned authorities in the field of ethics. All of the original articles have been newly peer-reviewed and revised, bibliographies have been updated throughout, and the overall design of the work has been enhanced for easier access to cross-references and other reference features.
Intro
Why you need reference sources
Why do you need reference sources, when so much is available on the Internet?Almost everyone will start with an Internet search, usually using Yahoo, Google, or Ask Jeeves. The problem with that strategy is that there is a lot of wrong information on the Internet, and it is not a good starting point. It is a good resource, but only after you have some background. "You can't go wrong with a good dictionary, even if you think you know the meaning of a word; and a serious encyclopedia will give you important background information. There are also specialized reference books, like chronologies (which list events year by year), biographical dictionaries (which provide short lives of important people), and bibliographies (which point you to other books)." (source: Lynch, getting an A on a paper
Course Description
Students will evaluate ethical situations related to classroom management. Students will apply the Saint Leo Core Values to issues related to ethics as well as diversity in the classroom. Sample topics will include plagiarism, differences in learning, issues related to online vs. face-to-face delivery, and topics related to the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).
Core Values
Core Values
The Mission Statement and Core Values of Saint Leo University are fundamental to all courses. The Psychology faculty has identified the following Saint Leo University Core Value to be included in the curriculum for this course:
Respect - The information in this course helps students prepare to teach at the college level. Students will show respect for diversity in the classroom as well as show respect when identifying solutions to problems presented in the weekly case studies.
Starting Your Research
Learning Outcomes
- Discuss the challenges and opportunities provided in a diverse classroom.
- Explain how to effectively manage a variety of classroom problems while demonstrating respect to students.
- Evaluate resources available to help low-performing students and students who require accommodations.
- Analyze an ethical issue encountered in a classroom setting.
