PSY 202: Foundations of Psychology Seminar: Finding Articles/PsycINFO

************************************************

APA PsycINFO Thesaurus Tutorial Videos

Search Hints

Determine keywords for your topic.
Check the thesaurus of the database to see if there is more appropriate terminology.
Use "Advanced Search" and enter your keywords in separate boxes.
Use "Refine Search" to narrow down your results.
See "Subject: Major Heading" for a list of thesaurus/subject terms related to your search.
Check the Methodology of the article in the detailed record by clicking on the title.
Use the icons to print/email/cite the article.
See "Cited References" and "Times Cited" for related articles

How to Use PsycINFO

PsycINFO is a psychology database available through the Saint Leo library. The database contains scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. Not all articles are available in full-text. (See "Can't find the full text of an article? on the right for help.)

Step-by-step instructions for using PsycINFO can be found in the documents below:

PsycINFO
Use the link above to access PsycINFO.
You will need to login with your user name and password.

How to find Empirical Articles in EBSCO/PsycINFO

IF YOU ARE FOLLOWING THE VIDEO BELOW, select PsycINFO instead of selecting all of the databases available in EBSCO.

Can't find the full text of an article?

If you cannot find the full text of an article in the database you are using, follow the steps below to locate the article:

A-to-Z Eresource List
Use the A-to-Z Eresource list and type the name of the journal that contains your article in the search box, to see if it is available in another database.
Print Periodical List
Search this list to see if we have a print (hard copy) of the journal in the Cannon Memorial Library. If so, click on the Interlibrary Loan Link below to request that the article be sent to you.
Interlibrary Loan
If you would like to request an article from the Cannon Memorial Library print periodical collection or to see if the article is available from another library, complete and submit the Article Request form.
more...less...
If you are off campus, articles can be emailed or faxed to your business or home. Most interlibrary loans take 4 business days from the time you submit a request until you have the item in hand. If you have questions, please contact the ILL department (352) 588-8328 or (800) 359-5945.

Methodologies

The following is a sample of methodologies that you may see in the PsycINFO database:

Empirical research
Quantitative study
Qualitative study
Interview
Clinical case study
Clinical trial
Longitudinal study
Prospective study
Retrospective study
Follow up study
Meta analysis
Literature review

Need Help?

SLU Library website

Contact the library:

In person
Phone: 800-359-5945
Email: library@saintleo.libanswers.com
Chat (click on chat icon in lower right corner)

LIBRARY