LIBRARY
CRM 300: Introduction to Community Policing, Fall 2016: Books and Ebooks
Community Policing
Crime and community policing by Call Number: Online Resource HV7936.C83 S69 2009ebISBN: 1593323794Publication Date: El Paso [Tex.] : LFB Scholarly Pub., 2009The question of decades : is it working -- Community policing -- Community policing and crime -- Road map to research -- The impact of COP on crime rates -- What we learned.
Citizens, cops, and power : recognizing the limits of community by Call Number: Cannon Library, Second Floor HN90.C6 H47 2006ISBN: 0226327302Publication Date: Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2006.Politicians, citizens, and police agencies have long embraced community policing, hoping to reduce crime and disorder by strengthening the ties between urban residents and the officers entrusted with their protection. That strategy seems to make sense, but in "Citizens, Cops, and Power," Steve Herbert reveals the reasons why it rarely, if ever, works. Drawing on data he collected in diverse Seattle neighborhoods from interviews with residents, observation of police officers, and attendance at community-police meetings, Herbert identifies the many obstacles that make effective collaboration between city dwellers and the police so unlikely to succeed. At the same time, he shows that residents' pragmatic ideas about the role of community differ dramatically from those held by social theorists. Surprising and provocative, "Citizens, Cops, and Power" provides a critical perspective not only on the future of community policing, but on the nature of state-society relations as well.
Social equity and the funding of community policing by Call Number: Online Resource HV7936.C83 G88 2003ebISBN: 1593320019Publication Date: New York : LFB Scholarly Pub. LLC, 2003
Labor Relations and Collective Bargaining
Management and supervision in law enforcement by Call Number: Cannon Library, Second Floor HV7936.P47 B47 2004ISBN: 0534616054Publication Date: Belmont, CA : Wadsworth/Thomson Learning, c2004.Chapter 7 - dealing with unions
The Florida and federal employment law manual.Call Number: Cannon Library, Reference section, First Floor KFF334 .F59 2008Publication Date: Tallahassee, FL : The American Chamber of Commerce Publishers 2008- Official Florida statutes / prepared by Statutory Revision Department.Call Number: Reference Desk KFF30 .A2 2001Publication Date: Tallahassee, FL : State of FloridaCheck online for updates.
Intelligence, Terrorism, and Homeland Security
The U.S. intelligence community : [opposing viewpoints] by Call Number: Cannon Library, Second Floor JK468.I6 U2 2011ISBN: 0737752467Publication Date: Detroit [Mich.] : Greenhaven Press, c2011.
Homeland security by Call Number: Cannon Library, Second Floor HV6432 .H657 2004ISBN: 0824210336Publication Date: Bronx, NY : H.W. Wilson, 2004.
U.S. homeland security : a reference handbookCall Number: Cannon Library, Reference section, First Floor HV6432.4 .B35 2005ISBN: 1851098038Publication Date: Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, [2005].
The 9/11 Commission report : final report of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks upon the United States.Call Number: Cannon Library, Second Floor HV6432.7 .N39 2004cISBN: 0393060411Publication Date: New York : Norton, 2004.
Terrorism and organized hate crime : intelligence gathering, analysis, and investigations by Call Number: Cannon Library, Second Floor HV8079.H38 R66 2004ISBN: 0849320127Publication Date: Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2004.
Police Use of Deadly Force: Training Analysis and Application
To better serve and protect : improving police practices by Call Number: Cannon Library, Second Floor H1 .A4 2004 v.593ISBN: 1412909384Publication Date: Thousand Oaks, Calif. ; London : SAGE Publication, c2004lawful policing
Fairness and effectiveness in policing : the evidence by Call Number: Cannon Library, Second Floor HV8138 .F35 2004ISBN: 0309084334Publication Date: Washington, DC : National Academies Press, c2004lawful policing
Police management by Call Number: Cannon Library, Second Floor HV7935 .R64 2002ISBN: 1891487833Publication Date: Los Angeles, Calif. : Roxbury Pub. Co., c2002.Use of Force, Assessing the Use of Force, Violence-prone Officers
Deadly force : firearms and American law enforcement : from the Wild West to the streets of today by Call Number: Cannon Library, Second Floor HV8138 .M39 2009ISBN: 1846033764Publication Date: Oxford ; New York : Osprey Pub., 2009.
Police use of force [electronic resource] : a global perspective by Call Number: Online Resource HV8069 .P65 2010ebISBN: 0313363269Publication Date: Santa Barbara : Praeger, 2010.
Stress in policing by Call Number: Cannon Library, Second Floor HV7936.J63 T63 2002ISBN: 1557988293Publication Date: Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2002.
Google Books and Police Organizaton and Administration
Subject Guide
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk
(800)359-5945
(352)588-8477
Text: (852)678-4393
Main Library
(352)588-8476
Website
(800)359-5945
(352)588-8477
Text: (852)678-4393
Main Library
(352)588-8476
General and Subject Specific CJ Knowledge
The concise dictionary of crime and justice by Call Number: Cannon Library, Reference section, First Floor HV6017 .D38 2002ISBN: 0761921761Publication Date: Thousand Oaks, CA : Sage, c2002.see p. 59 Community Policing, p. 82 deadly force, p. 259 terrorism,
Encyclopedia of crime and justiceCall Number: Cannon Library, Reference section, First Floor HV6017 .E52 2002ISBN: 002865319XPublication Date: New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2002v. 1. Abortion to Cruel & unusual punishment -- v. 2. Delinquent & criminal subcultures to Juvenile justice : Institutions -- v. 3. Juvenile justice : Juvenile court to Rural crime -- v. 4. Schools & crime to Wiretapping & eavesdropping / Glossary / Indexes.
v. 2 "Justification" v. 3 "Police: Community Policing" v. 4 "Terrorism"
Encyclopedia of terrorism by Call Number: Cannon Library, Reference section, First Floor HV6431 .K883 2003ISBN: 0761924086Publication Date: Thousand Oaks, Ca : Sage, c2003."The most comprehensive and up-to-date work available on this subjectàEssential for all academic and larger public libraries." --LIBRARY JOURNAL The Encyclopedia of Terrorism presents authoritative coverage of what is currently one of the worldÆs most important topics. With more than 300 articles, the Encyclopedia provides detailed discussions of the who , what, where, when, and why of terrorism. Up-to-date and timely, the articles cover such topics as Al- Qaeda , biological terrorism, extremism, Saddam Hussein, Jihad, Zacarias Moussaoui , and suicide bombers. Its concise, readable format and detailed chronology, photographs, maps, and charts make this an essential reference. An internationally recognized expert on terrorism, Harvey Kushner has studied terrorism for more than three decades. He serves as a consultant on terrorism for a broad array of governmental and private agencies. In addition, his commentary appears regularly on Fox National News, CNN, the British Broadcasting Corporation, National Public Radio, Voice of America, and in articles in Reuters, The Associated Press, the Washington Post, and other newspapers and magazines worldwide. His expertise ensures that the entries, including contributions by other authorities in the field, are of the highest quality. Key Features: More than 300 authoritative, in-depth articles Extensive, balanced coverage of terrorist groups (such as the IRA), key events (including September 11), people, terms, and statistics, as well as biographical, historical, and geographical information Cross-references to related entries at the end of each article Comprehensive, global coverage Valuable appendices include: list of government organizations, list of terrorist organizations, list of well known female terrorists, detailed list of further readings Recommended Libraries Public, academic, school, government, special, and private/corporate
APA Manual
Publication manual of the American Psychological AssociationCall Number: Cannon Library, Reference section, First Floor BF76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 1433805618Publication Date: Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2010.
