Oxford Digital Collections: Science & Technology

Up-to-date resource with over 330 entries, the Encyclopedia covers essential topics that include the processes that produce weather, the circulation of the atmosphere that generates the world's climates, classification of climates, important scientific concepts used by climatologists and meteorologists, and more.

A comprehensive, accessible, and authoritative guide to what we know about evolutionary biology, from the origins of species to the selfish gene and beyond. The Encyclopedia of Evolution covers the essentials of evolutionary biology in 370 original articles written by leading experts. The articles cover basic concepts and theories; models, methods, and findings; schools of thought; current controversies; biographies; and more. The Encyclopedia covers evolutionary thought in genetics, animal behavior, and every area of the life sciences, as well as in anthropology, psychology, linguistics, sociology, economics, medicine, philosophy, and other fields. There are hundreds of tables, charts, grtaphs, maps and other illustrations, bibliographies, cross-references and index. Designed for students and teachers in both high schools and colleges and universities, and scholars and scientists in the natural and social sciences, the Encyclopedia of Evolution will be the first point of access to this growing body of knowledge.

A fascinating, in-depth exploration of the hidden underwater world, this spectacularly illustrated encyclopedia examines the creatures that inhabit our seas, rivers, lakes, and oceans, revealing the often unexpected and bewilderingly diverse secrets of the deep.

With around one million species, insects and their allies are by far the most successful, variable and bizarre group of living things to have evolved on our planet. Taking each group in turn, from millipedes to mantids and from spiders to scorpions, this volume provides a summary of the current scientific understanding of this fascinating group of animals. Exceptionally illustrated with specially commissioned artwork illuminating the text, this work is the one-stop guide to the host of largely unseen 'mini-beasts' that share our world.

Vividly illustrated with excellent colour photographs on all reptiles and amphibians, it manages to combine scientific research with easy to read essays thus appealing simultaneously to a general audience interested in natural history and to specialists requiring an accurate up to date reference work.

The Companion brings together current knowledge about the relations between technological, social, demographic, economic, and political factors as well as biological, chemical, and physical systems. It is an essential reference work for students, teachers, researchers, and other professionals seeking to understand any aspect of global change.

We all have a mind, but how much do we know about what it is, and how it works? How do philosophers, physiologists, pyschologists and psychiatrists differ in their understanding of its processes? Includes Roger Penrose and Steven Rose on consciousness; Beryl Bainbridge on construction of fiction; Raj Persaud on depression; Richard Gregory on facial expression, illusions of vision and consciousness; Ted Honderich on free will; and Noam Chomsky on language.New to this editionThree new mini symposia - on consciousness, brain imaging and artificial intelligence - with contributions from a range of specialists, representing the variety of approaches to these major subjects in a balanced but lively and personal wayNew entries include artificial life, attachment theory, caffeine, conjuring, cruelty, drama, extra-terrestrial intelligence, face-to-face communication, genetics of mental illness, imagination, lying, puzzles and twins