Oxford Digital Collections: Arts & Humanities

International in scope. A fascinating resource for anyone interested in theatre, it includes: - Overviews of major concepts, topics and issues;- Surveys of theatre institutions, countries, and genres;- Biographical entries on key performers, playwrights, directors, designers, choreographers and composers;- Articles by leading professionals on crafts, skills and disciplines including acting, design, directing, lighting, sound and voice.

Spans every art form, medium, and civilization the fall of the Roman Empire, it is a comprehensive reference source on this important field of study. The Encyclopedia includes all subject areas in the classical arts, including philosophers, rulers, writers and artists, architecture, ceramics, sculpture, and more. The Encyclopedia is a reliable and convenient resource covering this field of everlasting significance in the development of western culture.

The second edition of The Oxford Companion to Archaeology is a thoroughly up-to-date resource with new entries exploring the many advances in the field since the first edition published in 1996. The second edition provides thorough coverage to historical archaeology, the development of archaeology as a field of study, and the way the discipline works to explain the past. In addition to significant expansion, first-edition entries have been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the progress that has been made in the last decade and a half.

Ranging from ancient Greek tragedies to the latest developments around the globe, The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance provides an all-embracing approach that encompasses drama and musical, opera, dance, radio, and non-dramatic performances including circuses and parades. Contains a particularly strong focus on biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers. Finally, the book includes many new entries that cover the people and companies who have come into prominence since the publication of the Encyclopedia.

This is the first Oxford Companion to deal with the subject of photography. It appears at a watershed in the medium's history, as digital imaging increasingly dominates the global photography scene at both amateur and professional levels. In addition to a wide range of technical information, the book encapsulates in concise and readily accessible form the mass of recent scholarship on photography as a social and artistic practice, organized both thematically and geographically. The book is extensively illustrated and includes many pictures never before published. The majority of the 1600-plus entries include suggestions for further reading. But the work's usefulness is further enhanced by the inclusion of an extensive bibliography, a chronology of photographic history, a list of important websites, and an index of people.

The original Oxford Companion to Art, edited by the late Harold Osborne, has been a mainstay for over three decades, a renowned one-volume guide to the world of art. Now comes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, almost completely rewritten, covering many more artists and their works, and offering fresh treatment of topics of contemporary interest, including patronage, taste, theory and criticism, materials and techniques, and the new art history. In addition, entries chart the critical fortunes of the art of the major European countries, covering for example patronage and collecting of Italian art in France, Spain, Britain, Germany, the USA, and in Italy itself. The contributors examine art theory, scholarship, and criticism, from Aristotle and Pausanius to Sartre, Panofsky, and Foucault.

The Oxford Dictionary of Christian Art and Architecture explains a wide range of terms used in the study of the history of Christian art and architecture including subjects, topics, themes, artists, works, movements, and buildings. Areas that have been expanded upon include the artwork, artists, and innovations of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries (such as the relationship between Christianity and film). Coverage includes art from around the world, with new entries upon the Christian art of North America, Latin America, Australasia, and of the non-Western world, as well as Christian artistic interactions with other religions, including Judaism and Islam.

From ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in stage design, from the trance-dances of Sumatra to an extensive biography of the legendary actor-manager Eleonore Duse, the Encyclopedia provides unrivaled information across the broad sweep of theatrical activity. The Encyclopedia pays special attention to non-Western styles through articles on theatre and performance throughout the many countries and traditions of Asia and Africa. Numerous biographical entries cover the lives and work of major figures: actors, playwrights, directors, designer, company managers, and critics. The combination of rich detail and accessible language and style make The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance the resource of choice for readers interested in theatre and performance, from occasional playgoers to newspaper critics, students, and scholars.