A Trauma Artist examines how O'Brien's works variously rewrite his own traumatization during the war in Vietnam as a never-ending fiction that paradoxically recovers personal experience by both recapturing and (re)disguising it. Mark Heberle considers O'Brien's career as a writer through the prisms of post-traumatic stress disorder, postmodernist metafiction, and post-World War II American political uncertainties and public violence.

Ernest Hemingway's public persona and reputation, literary style, affinity with modern painting, and conception of character are among the subjects of these commentaries on the author's life and work. Following my general introduction, R. Baird Shuman int

Throughout history, tyrants, totalitarian states, church institutions, and democratic governments alike have banned books that challenged their beliefs or questioned their activities. Political censorship was even applied to ancient Greek dramas during the Nazi occupation in 1942. Political suppression also occurs in the name of security and the safeguarding of official secrets, and is often used as a weapon in larger cultural or political battles. Such censorship has affected every form of writing. ""Literature Suppressed on Political Grounds, Revised Edition"" illustrates the extent and frequency of political censorship of many kinds of literature. The 10 entries new to this edition include works by Nobel Prize winners Wole Soyinka and Gao Xingjian, as well as works by Ha Jin and Edward Said. This edition also includes many updates to existing entries, such as ""Gulliver's Travels"". New and updated entries include: ""After Such Knowledge, What Forgiveness?"" (Jonathan C. Randal); ""Animal Farm"" (George Orwell); ""Born on the Fourth of July"" (Ron Kovic); ""Burger's Daughter"" (Nadine Gordimer); ""Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee"" (Dee Brown); ""Cancer Ward"" (Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn); ""The Case for India"" (Will Durant); ""Did Six Million Really Die?"" (Richard E. Harwood); ""Doctor Zhivago"" (Boris Pasternak); ""El Senor President"" (Miguel Angel Asturias); ""The Fugitive"" (Pramoedya Ananta Toer); ""The Grapes of Wrath"" (John Steinbeck); ""Gulliver's Travels"" (Jonathan Swift); ""The Jungle"" (Upton Sinclair); ""Les Miserables"" (Victor Hugo); ""The Man Died"" (Wole Soyinka); ""Manifesto of the Communist Party"" (Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels); ""Mein Kampf"" (Adolf Hitler); ""The Patriot"" (Hanoch Levin); ""The Prince"" (Machiavelli); ""Slaughterhouse-Five"" (Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.); and ""The Struggle Is My Life"" (Nelson Mandela).

This collection of critical essays on American writer Tim O'Brien includes a brief biography and a chronology of the author's life.

A comprehensive selection of criticism of Hemingway's work, much of it written by fellow novelists who include Lawrence, Virginia Woolf, Graham Greene and Joyce Cary.

This set treats the whole of American literature, from the European discovery of America to the present, with entries in alphabetical order. Each of the 350 substantive essays is a major interpretive contribution. Well-known critics and scholars provide clear and vividly written essays thatreflect the latest scholarship on a given topic, as well as original thinking on the part of the critic. The Encyclopedia is available in print and as an e-reference text from Oxford's Digital Reference Shelf.At the core of the encyclopedia lie 250 essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists. The most prominent figures (such as Whitman, Melville, Faulkner, Frost, Morrison, and so forth) are treated at considerable length (10,000 words) by top-flight critics. Less well known figures arediscussed in essays ranging from 2,000 to 5,000 words. Each essay examines the life of the author in the context of his or her times, looking in detail at key works and describing the arc of the writer's career. These essays include an assessment of the writer's current reputation with abibliography of major works by the writer as well as a list of major critical and biographical works about the writer under discussion.A second key element of the project is the critical assessments of major American masterworks, such as Moby-Dick, Song of Myself, Walden, The Great Gatsby, The Waste Land, Their Eyes Were Watching God, Death of a Salesmanr, or Beloved. Each of these essays offers a close reading of the given work,placing that work in its historical context and offering a range of possibilities with regard to critical approach. These fifty essays (ranging from 2,000 to 5,000 words) are simply and clearly enough written that an intelligent high school student should easily understand them, but sophisticatedenough that a college student or general reader in a public library will find the essays both informative and stimulating.The final major element of this encyclopedia consists of fifty-odd essays on literary movements, periods, or themes, pulling together a broad range of information and making interesting connections. These essays treat many of the same authors already discussed, but in a different context; they alsogather into the fold authors who do not have an entire essay on their work (so that Zane Grey, for example, is discussed in an essay on Western literature but does not have an essay to himself). In this way, the project is truly "encyclopedic," in the conventional sense. These essays aim forcomprehensiveness without losing anything of the narrative force that makes them good reading in their own right.In a very real fashion, the literature of the American people reflects their deepest desires, aspirations, fears, and fantasies. The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature gathers a wide range of information that illumines the field itself and clarifies many of its particulars.