BIO 497: Senior Seminar in Biology: Research Proposal Writing: Resources & Tips

Templates for Posters

Zotero This link opens in a new window
Zotero helps you quickly and easily create a bibliography.
Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a program that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free.
Access Science This link opens in a new window
This is just a starting point. Secondary resources are included in this database, not primary - but if you need a bit more information about a topic, this can be a good starting point.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content)

Journal Title Abbreviations
Science.gov
Use the on-screen search box to locate links on computers, communication and mathematics
High Wire Press

When searching for scientific articles, be as specific as possible. (Once you have an idea of your search terms).

STEP 1: try several general search terms

Do you get too many results?( generally, yes)
BUT Are there two or three in the first 10 that seem to be "heading in the right direction"?
Are keywords provided in any of those articles?

STEP 2: Review your keywords.

STEP 3: Review the results lists

Are you getting better results?
Try other databases -- sometimes it is not the search terms, it's the database you searching

STEP 4: Review some abstracts of articles that seem to be close or on target, then review the Reference list (bread crumbs).

Do you see any potential keywords in the abstract that you could try?
Do any of the titles oif the articles listed in the references look like they might be applicable?

Keep a list of searches/words that worked, and which databases you used for those search terms.