Fine Arts Subject Research Guide: Electronic Books

The list this list of additional relevant reference material includes a sample of encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, etc. that are searchable and readable online. To access these resources: 

• click on this link:  eBooks and eReference Resources
• select the appropriate resource
• log in with the user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email
• search for a specific title or topic

Credo Reference
A Biographical Dictionary of Artists
The Bloomsbury Guide to Art
The Bridgeman Art Library Archive
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre
Chambers Film Factfinder
Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre
Critical Terms for Art History
Encyclopedia of American Folk Art
National Gallery Collection
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Arts and Artists
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of British Art
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers
The Thames & Hudson Encyclopaedia of Impressionism

Encyclopedia Britannical Online

Gale Virtual Reference Library 
The Art of Creative Thinking
Elizabethan World Reference Library
Historyof the American (Vols. 1-10)
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film

Oxford Digital Reference Collection
Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance

EBSCO eBook Collection
African-American Art
Art and Advertising
Art and Its Significance: An Anthology of Aesthetic Theory
Art-based Research
Art History: The Key Concepts
Art Influence in the West
Art in Its Time: Theories and Practices of Modern Aesthetics
The Art of Art History: A Critical Anthology
Art of Florida: Seminole and Miccosukee Indians
Arts and Society: Readings in the Sociology of the Arts
Bad Girls and Sick Boys: Fantasies in Contemporary Art and Culture
Beauty and Islam: Aesthetics in Islamic Art and Architecture
Beyond Aesthetics: Philosophical Essays
Color: An Introduction to Practice and Principles
Conceptual Art and the Politics of Publicity
Contemplating the Ancients: Aesthetic and Social Issues in Early Chinese Portraiture
Couture Culture: A Study in Modern Art and Fashion
Critical Studies in Art & Design Education
A Dictionary of Ancient Near East Architecture
Encyclopedia of American Folk Art
Exhibiting Contradiction: Essays on the Art Museum in the United States
Folk Art in Texas
The Future of Art: An Aesthetics of the New and the Sublime
Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art
The Hutchinson Dictionary of Symbols in Art
The Hutchinson Dictionary of the Arts
Images and Empires: Visuality in Colonial and Postcolonial Africa
Interventions and Provocations: Conversations On Art, Culture, and Resistance
The Invisible God: The Earliest Christians on Art Continental Crosscurrents: British Criticism and European Art 1810-1910
Is Art History Global?
Islamic Art and Spirituality
Jewish Identity in Modern Art History
Literature and the Visual Arts in Ancient Greece and Rome
Looking at Lovemaking: Constructions of Sexuality in Roman Art, 100 B.C.-A.D. 250
Michelangelo’s Last Judgment: The Renaissance Response
Modern Theories of Art 2, From Impressionism to Kandinsky
Museum Movies: The Museum of Modern Art and the Birth of Art Cinema
North American Women artists of the 20th Century: A Biographical Dictionary
Nuns as Artists: The Visual Culture of a Medieval Convent
Orientalist Aesthetics: Art, Colonialism, & French North Africa, 1880-1930
The Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture
Painting on the Left: Diego Rivera, Radical Politics, and San Francisco’s Public Murals
Philosophy of Art: A Contemporary Introduction
The Reformation and the Visual Arts: The Protestant Image Question in Western and Eastern Europe
Routledge Philosophy Guidebook to Nietzsche On Art
Sight Unseen: Whiteness and American Visual Culture
Subtle Bodies: Representing Angels in Byzantium
Symbolist Art Theories: A Critical Anthology
The Taos Society of Artists
Theological Aesthetics: God in Imagination, Beauty, and Art
A Theory of Art
Visions from the Past: The Archaeology of Australian Aboriginal Art
The Visual Culture of American Religions
Visual Piety: A History and Theory of Popular Religious Images
Women’s Places: Architecture and Design 1860-1960

ebrary ebooks from ProQuest Ebook Central

Big Bucks: The Explosion of the Art Market in the 21st Century 
William and Bettye Nowlin Series in Art, History, and Culture of the Western Hemisphere : Curating at the Edge : Artists Respond to the U.S./Mexico Border 
Interfaces : Studies in Visual Culture : Violent Embrace : Art and Aesthetics after Representation 
Ashgate Research Companion to Giorgio Vasari 
Cultural Interactions: Studies in the Relationship between the Arts, Volume 31 : Performativity in the Gallery : Staging Interactive Encounters 
Videogames and Art 
Architecture since 1400 
Wide Awake in Slumberland : Fantasy, Mass Culture, and Modernism in the Art of Winsor McCay
Current Developments in the Geographies of Leisure and Tourism : Travel, Tourism and Art 
Mechademia 8 : Tezuka's Manga Life 
Street Art, Public City : Law, Crime and the Urban Imagination 
Colour, Art and Empire : Visual Culture and the Nomadism of Representation
Image of Christ in Modern Art 
Collecting the New : Museums and Contemporary Art  

Can't find the perfect eBook within these resources? Try Google Books! Google Books allows you to for search eBooks (and print books) across the Internet. Use this Search box to get started. Note that clicking the "Search" button may load your search results in a new tab or window depending on your browser configuration settings.